Crown of Midnight Review

Title: Crown of Midnight                                                                       Series: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s                            Published Date: August 27, 2013

Page #: 418

Genre: Fantasy

!!!! If you have not read the first book, read at your own risk !!!!

Goodreads Synopsis

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

My Thoughts

I never thought that this book would be better than the first and yet here I am. This book was so amazing, I can’t even stand it. It took me awhile to get into just because how good the first book was. I am so glad I picked it back up and finished it because I immediately stuck my nose into the third book. This book deserves a…

FIVE HEART RATING, this officially one of my favorites!

Non-Spoiler Review

!!!! If you have not read the first book, read at your own risk !!!!

    I was completely taken aback by this book. It is so rare that you find a series where all the books are equal or where it gets better. Crown of Midnight, Sarah J. Maas, really stepped up the game. The scenes and the character development took a completely different turn than I had anticipated. I can usually tell what direction a book is going but this book had me saying “WHAT?!?!” a million times once it was finished. I am still in shock, I needed some time to gather my thoughts on this book to write a good review but this is difficult because there is just so much to say. I highly recommend this series. If you’ve read Throne of Glass and are not sure if you want to continue, you should. I know not everyone is a fan of Fantasy but this book brings it to another level. I truly haven’t loved a series like this since Harry Potter. ❤

Spoiler Review

!!!!BE AWARE!!!!

    Like I said in the non-spoiler review this book was fantastic. We got to see an all new side of Celaena. To be honest, ever since in the first book when everyone was talking about how dangerous Celaena was I have wanted to see it and in this book, we did. She was like a whole different person after Nehemia’s death. She turned so cold after that and I loved that old/new side of her. I put the book down for a month just because I was so heart-broken about Nehemia’s death. I saw it coming but was not prepared for it. I was told that I needed to be emotionally ready for this book and I personally don’t think you’ll ever be emotionally ready. When an author can write words that carry so much meaning and pain behind it, it just carries over to the reader and you feel that pain. As I continued to read the book I felt like Celaena, I hated that Nehemia was dead and all I wanted was for her to come back or for it to be a fake death. Then the whole Chaol twist!! I was so happy that Celaena and Chaol finally got together but then she tries to kill him. Of course I understand why but I was a little sad about it but I’m glad because I’m still a Dorian and Celaena shipper but I also Celaena and Chaol too, can I ship both?

Now to the part that completely took me by surprise, the part no one could see coming. Celaena is Aelin?!?!?! This is when I just kept saying “WHAT?!” You can ask my family for about 15 minutes all I said was “WHAT?!” I was in amazement and I couldn’t believe it. I thought Celaena was going to be a long lost relative of Aelin. When she told Chaol to check that page out, she is Aelin. Also that Celaena/Aelin is a Fae. I feel like I should of saw that one coming but I just dropped my jaw. This book is just unexplainable beyond this point. Sarah’s writing is amazing and holds so much emotion. The imagery though, I can’t get past this. I understand that I may be a little overhyped about this series but I truly love it.

Leave a Reply

